No More Cell Phone

One of my friend’s sent me a text asking me to pray for her. I typed a well-thought out response, only to discover that it wouldn’t go through. I even tried sending it as a text message, because my phone tends to send even normal text messages as multimedia messages.

I don’t ask any questions; that’s just what she does.

When it continued to fail to send, that’s when it hit me: my cell phone’s probably cut off. My mom had said that it might happen, but she has said that in the past, and my phone still worked. I was still chained to the interconnected web that is “the grid”. If you ask me, slavery has never ended; now our masters are electronic. I couldn’t stand the burden of being chained to that little piece of glass, software, and intricate wiring. Hearing that the witch was dead caused a wave of relief to overtake me.

To make matters even better, I can’t afford to go get a plan until my next check. No, I’m not being sarcastic; I’m actually happy about this!

As I sat there at the bus stop, what did I decide to do with my newfound freedom? Why, read of course! I have no unction to check my cell phone because I’m totally cut off! I can check it, but it bears no messages that need checking… neither has any calls that demand my attention. I’m completely free!

I never cared for cell phones to begin with. They have their usefulness, but nowadays, it’s ridiculous how there’s no more idle time, and no more real world interactions because of them. Who thought this was a good idea? When someone came up with the idea of the cell phone/smart phone, is this what they had in mind?

I will enjoy this for as long as possible. I might even give out my landline for people that really want to talk to me on the phone. I really should have an urgency to fix this, but Rhett Butler from Gone With The Wind said it best: “Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a darn.”

Enjoy your week people; I will surely enjoy mine!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.